About me :)

I've primarily written this to post on pen pal communities, as I would really like to have a pen pal, but thought it would also serve as a good little "about me" section for anyone who comes across my journal, as all of my other entries are friends only.

Name: Izzy
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Location: North Wales, but I grew up in London and have also lived in Cornwall (all in the UK, but all about 300 miles away from each other!).
Languages: English, and a little bit of Welsh (dw i’n dysgu Cymraeg – I’m learning Welsh!)

About me:
I only moved to North Wales just over a year ago but have really struggled to make friends, so I’ve been having a pretty sad time while I’ve been here. I’ve always wanted to have a penpal (or several!) so thought that now would be a good time to have a go at it and try to make my life up here a little less lonely

I like to collect things – at the moment I collect Sylvanian Families, Lego minifigures, pressed pennies and miniature things. I also seem to have started “collecting” washi tapes, stickers and letter paper, but I’m not sure if those really count as a collection as I like to actually use them up and not just keep them stored away!

My main hobby is crafting. I do a bit of all sorts, but my favourite crafts are jewellery making, knitting, crochet and cross stitch. I also like making miniature things (as accessories for my Sylvanian Families, or to turn into jewellery). My other hobbies are first aid (I’m a member of a charity that provides first aid cover at public events) and Scouts (I help out at a Scout troop and am hoping to complete all my training and become a proper Scout Leader soon). I am also learning how to speak Welsh, so would love to write to a Welsh speaker!

Other than the things I have mentioned above, my interests include social history (particularly the Victorian era and WWII), science, medicine/healthcare, animals and nature (I studied Zoology at university). I like being outdoors, camping and going for long walks. One of my favourite things to do is walk along a beach collecting “treasure” (sea glass, bits of broken pottery, shells and anything else I find interesting!). I’d also love to travel more and see more of the world – I love learning about new places. I like to take photographs too (but I don’t have a fancy camera, just a little point-and-shoot) and I want to get back into making craft-related videos for my Youtube channel again.

I have a pet Syrian hamster called Boris, who is a lovely ginger colour and has a cute little white saddle over his back.

I have one brother who is autistic, so would be very keen to write to someone who has experience of the autistic spectrum.


Things I like to watch on TV include The I.T. Crowd, Fawlty Towers, Blackadder, The Big Bang Theory, Fresh Meat, My Mad Fat Diary, The Great British Sewing Bee, The Apprentice, Undercover Boss, Wife Swap and Bad Education. I also like watching documentaries about pretty much anything, but particularly about people and their lives.

I’m not a big film buff, but do like watching comedies, as well as Disney and Studio Ghibli films.

As for music, I like pretty much anything, but have a bit of a soft spot for pop-punk, indie and music from the 1960s and 70s.

I like reading, but haven’t found as much time to read recently as I would like, but now I am finding more time to read again I am always looking for book recommendations! Books/authors I have enjoyed recently include The Hunger Games series, The Harry Potter series, John Green, Jane Austen and Ben Goldacre and Chuck Palahniuk.

Pen pal Info:
How many pen pals do you have? None at the moment
How many pen pals do you want? As many as want to write to me!
Snail mail or email? Either, although I prefer snail mail
How long are your letters? I am for at least 2 pages
How long does it take you to reply? A week or less
Where would you like them to be from? Anywhere
Age Preference? Between 18 and 40, as I think we’re more likely to have things in common, but I will write to anyone if we have similar interests
Gender? Any
What are you looking for? I’m looking for people to be friends with – I’ve found it really hard to make friends where I live now as I’m not in education and work with people who are quite a lot older than me, so would really like to have some other people to talk to and share things with. It would also be nice to have people to swap stationary, small crafted items and other trinkets with :)

If you think it sounds like we have a few things in common and would get along well as pen pals, drop me a message/comment on here or email me at izzywizzy24[at]hotmail[dot]com :)
Tags: ,